understanding ASP.NET controls

understanding ASP.NET controls

ASP.NET controls:-

  • controls are the heart of the ASP.NET framework.
  • controls:-
  1. standard control
  2. validation control
  3. rich control
  4. data control
  5. navigation control
  6. web part control
  7. HTML control

standard control:-

  • render standard form elements such as buttons, labels, etc.
  • controls with more built-in features.
  • they are server-side objects.
  • they are programmable objects that act as user interfaces (UI) elements on a web page.
  • System.Web.UI.Webcontrols


<asp:button ID=”btnans” runat=”server” text=”ans”/>

standard control

standard control

validation control:-

  • validation control

    validation control


  • attach a validation control to an input control to test the data user enters into it.
  • it is used to test user input.

rich control:-

  • they enable you to render things such as file upload buttons, ad rotators, calendar etc.

data control:-

  • data control

    data control


  • they enable you to work with data such as database data.

navigation control:-

  • navigation control

    navigation control


  • these controls enable you to display navigation elements such as menu, sitemap, and tree view.

login control:-

  • they enable you to display login, change password and registration forms.

web part control:-

  • they enable you to a personalizable portal application
web part controls

web part controls

HTML control:-

  • it is used to work with the client side programming
  • System.Web.UI.HTML controls
  • we can convert HTML controls into server control also.
HTML control

HTML control


<input id=”btnclear” type=”button” value=”click me”/>